Andersen Racing and Rahal Letterman Racing (RLR) have established an unprecedented association between a junior open-wheel racing team and a major-league motorsports powerhouse.

Andersen Racing fielded a Star Mazda car for Bobby Rahal's son Graham in 2005, but Andersen Racing and RLR's official association began in February 2007 when Andersen Racing was named as the official Indy Lights development team of RLR. The relationship expanded in January 2008 with the signing of a multi-year agreement that includes not only Andersen Racing's Indy Lights team, but also its Star Mazda and F2000 Championship Series teams.

In short, RLR's driver development program is firmly focused on Andersen Racing.

Andersen Racing is based at Andersen RacePark in Palmetto, Fla., a facility that includes a 1-mile test track. It is an ideal location for winter testing and as a base for early-season events in the South. In the summer, when the bulk of the races are in the East, Midwest and the West, the RLR/Andersen Racing Indy Lights cars are headquartered at RLR's nearly 60,000-square-foot shop in Hilliard, Ohio. This cuts down on travel expenses for the Indy Lights effort and also gives Andersen Racing's Indy Lights engineers and mechanics better access to RLR's IndyCar personnel and equipment.

Andersen Racing's Star Mazda and F2000 drivers benefit too. One example is the twice-yearly driver symposiums that RLR conducts for all of Andersen Racing's drivers and their parents.

RLR also provides guidance and/or support for Andersen Racing's marketing, hospitality, public relations and administrative work in all three series.

Each of Andersen Racing's full-season F2000 and Star Mazda drivers earn a test at the next-highest level at year's end. RLR provided an IndyCar test for RLR/Andersen Racing's lead Indy Lights driver, Andrew Prendeville, in 2007, and hopes to offer more tests in the future.

RLR competes in both the IndyCar Series and the American Le Mans Series (ALMS). It is co-owned by three-time IndyCar champion and 1986 Indy 500 winner Bobby Rahal and CBS Late Show host David Letterman. The team has been competing for more than a decade, compiling numerous victories, one series championship (Bobby Rahal in 1992 in CART) and an Indy 500 victory (Buddy Rice in 2004).